PoliticsWorld/Foreign News

Do you know the British Nigerians who were recently elected into the UK Parliament? Check out all six of them

Six British Nigerians were successful in their bid to become UK Members of Parliament (MP) in the just-concluded July 4th general elections. Check them out:

Chi Onwurah (Labour MP for Newcastle Central and West)

Onwurah was re-elected as an MP to represent Newcastle upon Tyne Central and West for the Labour Party in the July 4 elections. She emerged winner with nearly 19,000 votes. Before the election, Onwurah was serving as the Shadow Minister for Industrial Strategy. She was born on April 12, 1965.

Kemi Badenoch (Saffron Walden)

Badenoch was also re-elected as a Conservative Party MP despite her party losing heavily to the Labour Party in the Prime Minister category. She won with more than 19,000 votes defeating her opposition, Labour’s Issy Waiter, by more than 2,500 votes.

Kate Osamor (Edmonton)

Osamor, 55, served as Member of Parliament for Edmonton from 2015 until the seat was abolished in 2024. She also served as the Shadow Secretary of State for International Development from 2016 to 2018. She was elected as the Labour candidate for Edmonton and Winchmore Hill in the just-concluded general elections.

Florence Eshalomi (Vauxhall and Camberwell Green)

Eshalomi served as Member of Parliament for Vauxhall from 2019 until the seat’s abolition in 2024. The 43-year-old is a member of the Labour and Co-operative party, and was a Member of the London Assembly for Lambeth and Southwark for six years from 2016 to 2021.

Taiwo Owatemi (Coventry North West)

Owatemi, born 1992, won the UK Parliament election in Coventry North West for the Labour Party. Owatemi polled nearly 20,000 votes, blowing her main rival, Conservative Party’s Tom Mercer out of the water by more than 11,000 votes. She was Shadow Minister for Women and Equalities from September 2021 to September 2022.

Bayo Alaba (Southend East and Rochford)

Bayo Alaba, won the Southend East and Rochford for Labour Party. He emerged winner with 15,395 votes against the Conservative Party’s Gavin Haran with 11,368 votes.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button