Babayemi, Ogunbiyi, others defect to APC in Osun

Osun politicians, Dotun Babayemi and Akin Ogunniyi, have officially departed their parties for the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the state.

Babayemi, who was a former gubernatorial aspirant in the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and Ogunniyi, a former gubernatorial candidate of the Accord Party in the 2022 Osun gubernatorial election, defected to the APC at a public ceremony in Osogbo on friday.

The event was held at the APC secretariat in Osogbo, the capital of Osun State, with thousands of supporters and party loyalists in attendance to receive them.

Others who joined the APC include former National Deputy Chairman of the PDP, Shuaib Oyedokun, and Faruq Abbas, the Chief of Staff to the Osun House of Assembly Speaker.

APC bigwigs present to welcome the defectors included immediate former governor and Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Adegboyega Oyetola, and Dr Ajibola Basiru, the National Secretary of the party.

Recall that the Osun State PDP had announced Babayemi’s suspension over alleged anti-party activities in the 2022 governorship election.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button